The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Towing a caravan with our Nuevo

+4
glyne lock
bikeralw
Caraman
Richard G
8 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Towing a caravan with our Nuevo Empty Towing a caravan with our Nuevo

Post by Guest Sun Sep 18, 2022 7:05 am

I see that our Nuevo can tow 2000kg. We also have a nice caravan at 1600 kg so wondered if anyone has ever towed a caravan with their Auto Sleeper. There are circumstances where this could be useful
Anonymous

Back to top Go down

Towing a caravan with our Nuevo Empty Re: Towing a caravan with our Nuevo

Post by Richard G Tue Sep 20, 2022 9:47 pm

I have never seen a motorhome towing a caravan, i often wonder why!
Richard G
Richard G

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Broadway EL
Vehicle Year : 2021

Back to top Go down

Post by Caraman Wed Sep 21, 2022 7:09 pm

I have lots of experience towing caravans but not behind an Auto-Sleeper and certainly not behind a coach built like a Nuevo!  7% of a caravan's mass should be on its drawbar.  For a 1600kg caravan this amounts to 112kg.  That's an awful lot of nose weight bearing down on the back of a fully loaded motorhome, assuming the tow bar is man enough for it.  On your Nuveo I would expect the increase in rear axle mass to be at least 150kg (and the reduction in front axle mass to be at least 38 kg).  This along with the mass of the tow bar will almost certainly result in your rear axle and rear tyres being dangerously overloaded and it will reduce your front wheel traction.  If I was intent on towing a caravan behind an Auto-Sleeper, I would do it behind a PVC and not a coach built and it would be a small caravan.  I am sure all Auto-Sleepers would do badly in the Tow Car of the Year competition!
Caraman
Caraman

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Nuevo
Vehicle Year : 2019

frederic and jwells like this post

Back to top Go down

Post by bikeralw Tue Sep 27, 2022 9:47 am