The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Leak from solar panel roof entry

4 posters

Go down

Leak from solar panel roof entry Empty Leak from solar panel roof entry

Post by gassygassy Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:20 pm

I noticed some tiny pimples on the inside ceiling above the wardrobe door on my Nuevo. I pressed one with a finger and it disappeared. I studied the digit but couldn't see any wet but I was curious - it could be damp so I looked above the door inside the wardrobe, and peeled off a decorative strip where the solar cable (s - in my case- ) ran across above the door towards the Sargent box. The wood in there was definitely damp. I made an arrangement to visit a caravan / motorhome repairer who diagnosed the problem and quickly fixed it. It was a good job I was doing something else in the camper in January otherwise it would have got serious.

The point of the post is this: Autosleepers fitted a solar panel, and the cable goes inside through the roof via a rectangular white plastic cowl above the wardrobe. The cable then runs round the top of the wardrobe and down to the Sargent box inside a box section. (Thinks - Why on earth don't they enter the cable into the roof roof directy above the Sargent box, saving running the cable round the top of the wardrobe??)