The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

solar panel not charging the leisure battery

4 posters

Go down

solar panel not charging the leisure battery Empty solar panel not charging the leisure battery

Post by OnMyWay Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:31 pm

I'm relatively new to motor-homing and am learning fast but this Christmas, my hope of relying on my leisure battery was dashed after only 24 hours when I realised that the solar panel was not providing any input to the leisure battery and the battery died.  Fortunately, I was eventually able to connect to an an electric hook-up but want to solve this as I plan to travel next year.  Can anyone shed any light on why there may have been no charge?  It's been cold of course, but quite bright.
OnMyWay
OnMyWay

Female

Auto-Sleeper : Winchcombe
Vehicle Year : 2013

Back to top Go down

solar panel not charging the leisure battery Empty Re: solar panel not charging the leisure battery

Post by -mojo- Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:01 am

I guess the first thing to check would be to ask what power control system is installed in your van, and was the solar panel fitted at the factory? We can't assume that it's an EC500 (by Sargent) because the only Owner's Manual download that A/S have available is for a 2015 Winchcombe - but it probably is.

If so, can you confirm that you've read the section in the Owner's Manual about how the EC500 works in conjunction with a factory fitted panel? There's info there on how the charging system works, and also some trouble-shooting info as well.

Having said that, it sounds like you have a fault somewhere, because the EC500 should be charging the leisure battery under all circumstances (via Intelligent Charging when the EC500 is powered on, and directly when it is in shutdown mode).