The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Inf on AC unit - Leisure Battery - Sat Nav

+2
Roopert
hpatel
6 posters

Go down

Inf on AC unit - Leisure Battery - Sat Nav Empty Inf on AC unit - Leisure Battery - Sat Nav

Post by hpatel Fri Jan 24, 2020 4:55 pm

Hi I have an auto sleeper Symbol Plus 2019 (Boxer Van) – does anyone know which are the best options to have on the following

• An AC unit on the roof – it got to be small

• Best spare Leisure Battery

• A good Sat Nav dish – again its got to be small and take SKY – roof mounted and automatic

Good installers around Beds and Bucks

I am new to this so any help would be useful.

Harry
hpatel
hpatel

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Symbol plus
Vehicle Year : 2019

Back to top Go down

Inf on AC unit - Leisure Battery - Sat Nav Empty Re: Inf on AC unit - Leisure Battery - Sat Nav

Post by Roopert Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:41 pm

hpatel wrote:

• An AC unit on the roof – it got to be small

Hello Harry,

To pick on one of your three - air con will depend very much on where/when you're planning to travel, because a Symbol Plus is a moderately large van in terms of internal volume. A small rooftop-mounted unit may just about be adequate to provide a limited flow of coolish air during the 3 or 4 hot days that we get in the UK each year, but if you're planning to go to, for example, Mediterranean climates you will find the results very disappointing. The size of heat exchanger inside the unit is determined by its external size, so if you must have a small unit, it will inevitably have similarly small cooling capacity.

If you decide that you need one that's big enough to provide actual useful cooling when it's really hot out, you will need a big unit - which in itself is a problem with roof-mounted, because the result is that you have a heavy device high up on the van, which adversely affects handling!