The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What to check when buying a 2012 Northants

5 posters

Go down

What to check when buying a 2012 Northants Empty What to check when buying a 2012 Northants

Post by julieonajourney Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:58 pm

Hopefully, we're about to purchase a 2012 Northants (is this the same as a Bourton?) which will be our first MH. Would be really grateful to know if there's anything in particular we should check on the vehicle.

Also, it doesn't have a reversing camera, only parking sensors on the back bumper. Are these likely to be sufficient, along with the rear-view mirror, or do we need to factor in the cost of having a camera fitted? We've been quoted £600 - £700 for this, which seems a lot.

It's only got Grade 1 insulation - is this likely to be sufficient? We'll be travelling mostly in Scotland, probably not in the winter.

Really a total newbie at this - we've never even been away in a MH - so very grateful for any pointers!

Cheers

Julie scratch head think_smiley_46
julieonajourney
julieonajourney
Donator
Donator

Female

Auto-Sleeper : Northants
Vehicle Year : 2012

Back to top Go down

What to check when buying a 2012 Northants Empty Re: What to check when buying a 2012 Northants

Post by Askit Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:57 pm

Sorry Julie, don't know enough about that model to offer you any constructive advice about what to look for before purchasing. The reversing sensors will be a help but I've found the rear view camera (which provides a rear view whilst driving as well as reversing) very useful and I would struggle to be without it now. Unfortunately you, like us, live in this part of the world and that limits the choice of companies who can provide and fit the equipment.

Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 74
Auto-Sleeper : Neuvo EK LP
Vehicle Year : 2015

Back to top Go down