The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Damp meter

4 posters

Go down

Damp meter Empty Damp meter

Post by Paulmold Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:09 am

Paulmold
Paulmold
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 72
Auto-Sleeper : Sussex Duo
Vehicle Year : 2010

Back to top Go down

Damp meter Empty Re: Damp meter

Post by stoneb Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:14 pm

Hi Paulmold,

Interesting subject these devices aren't they? As I understand it (and I'm no electronics expert) these are nothing more than an ammeter so they indicate the flow of electrons. The presence of water helps the flow of electrons, so the more the moisture, the more the indication of electron flow.

The danger with the type of meter on offer in the link you quote is from the metal probes that have to puncture the surface of the article being "damp tested".

I witnessed the sales guy at the dealership where I traded in my beloved Rapido 7099f using a "damp meter" on it (I'm sure he would have offered a much lowered trade in price had anything been indicated, and they had given me the absolute minimum they could get away with - cheapskates). His device was a non-contact model - it made no puncture marks in his new vehicle accepted from me. I would be interested to hear from anyone who knows, how reliable the indications are from these non-contact "damp meters"? And, how do they 'sense' dampness (ultrasonic signals?)

I hope I don't need one, if I do, I would have to consider a non-contact model because I can't bear the thought of puncture marks all over the internals of "Winnie". I bought from this dealer (at top whack price) my latest beloved brand new motorhome. Perhaps someone within ASOF will reasure me that new A/S vehicles are leakfree, I hope???

Barry.
stoneb
stoneb

Male

Member Age : 74
Auto-Sleeper : Winchcombe
Vehicle Year : 2014

Back to top Go down

Post by Paulmold Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:09 am