The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes

4 posters

Go down

Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes Empty Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes

Post by perryw Sat Dec 11, 2021 8:28 pm

Hi,

I’m looking for pointers for any common faults I should look out for in a 2009 coachbuilt autosleeper based on a Mercedes sprinter automatic. I’m about to buy one and it seems v solid but I wanted to know if there is anything I should look out for… primarily from a mechanical perspective, but also habitation area. It’s one of the ones with the folding toilet/shower door. 

My knowledge of manual sprinters are that they are pretty much bulletproof, but I have no experience with the auto box. 

Thanks

Perry
perryw

Male

Member Age : 55
Auto-Sleeper : none
Vehicle Year : Vehicle

Back to top Go down

Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes Empty Re: Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes

Post by gemdeco Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:26 pm

Hi  I have had 3 sprinters latest is new, 1 manual and 1 auto, mileage should not be a problem unless it is spaceship miles, main thing is service history, it should have had a auto fluid change at 2 years old , It is pot luck really, my first auto at only 15,000 miles had ECU problems.I f you are buying from a dealer get a good warranty that allows you to take it to a MB dealer for repairs, I had a RAC warranty and was useless was expected to take it to Halfords for repairs. Fridges seem to give most problems with circuit boards failing, what model are you looking at
 Regards
 Alan
gemdeco
gemdeco

Male

Member Age : 73
Vehicle Year : 2020

Back to top Go down

Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes Empty Re: Pointers for a 2009 automatic Mercedes

Post by Tinwheeler Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:44 pm