The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever.

4 posters

Go down

New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever. Empty New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever.

Post by Guest Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:56 pm

Hi, I'm new to this lark hence the title.  Just bought a 2000 VW Gatcombe off ebay and looking to travel in these difficult times from Northern Ireland to central England to look it over and hopefully bring it home.

I have many questions and concerns so please be gentle with my ignorance and annoying curiosity.

My first question is regarding painted interior furniture.  How easy, or difficult Half full pint glass 🙂) is it to remove and restore doors back to original?  I'm aware that all paint jobs are different and it depends on the type of paint, but it's a hopeful question to those who may have come across painted kitchen units and removed the paint.

Looking forward to learning and maybe sharing.
Anonymous

Back to top Go down

New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever. Empty Re: New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever.

Post by modelman Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:04 pm

Hello & welcome from S/Yorks. drinksallround

Not sure if there IS anything painted in AS vans, the furniture edge sections are usually varnished wood & all paneling is wood-effect vinyl, akin to 'Fablon'!

Good luck in your quest.

Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 77
Auto-Sleeper : Amethyst
Vehicle Year : 2003

Back to top Go down

New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever. Empty Re: New to Campervan/motorhome/whatever.

Post by Guest Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:22 pm

Thanks modelman, looks like a previous owner took a paintbrush to the interior to recreate an episode from 60 minute makeover  smile!
Anonymous

Back to top Go down

Post by Paulmold Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:31 pm