The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Snow Chains

5 posters

Go down

Snow Chains Empty Snow Chains

Post by ian Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:46 am

I was happily reminiscing my last visit to Andorra when it struck me that in winter there's a lot of snow and that it is often a requirement for snow chains to be fitted before entering the region.

I have no experience of snow chains fitted to the motorhome.

Any 'tips or advice' before I splash out on some?

Cheers Ian SnowballFightSnowballFight
ian
ian

Male

Member Age : 74
Auto-Sleeper : Executive

Back to top Go down

Snow Chains Empty Re: Snow Chains

Post by Dutto Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:42 pm

Hi there,

1) Don't bother if you don't have to. They are expensive and can ONLY be used on SNOW!

2) Wait until December and Lidl will have a set for relatively cheap price.

Hope this helps.allthumbz

Best regards,
drinksallround

Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Duetto

Back to top Go down

Post by ian Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:57 pm

Thanks for the reply, 

I didn't explain my plans fully. We intend setting off in September to return in late December. We will set off again in early January and return again in the Spring. We have lots of experience of the journey(s) over the Pyrenees having done it many times in winter in our 4x4. We have not travelled in winter in the motorhome and as I said some regions insist that snow chains must be worn before entering the region. Obviously at this time it is because of the extensive snow/ice.

When you say only used on snow does that exclude icy roads with compacted snow? 

Cheers Ian
ian
ian

Male

Back to top Go down

Post by Dutto Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:16 pm

Ian,

Compacted snow is fine it's when you run on to tarmac that you get the chains sparking, overheating and ruining the tyres!