The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beginner Help - Key Fob / Battery / Cobra

+9
Peter Brown
Molly3
Richard G
glyne lock
Caraman
Eltel
Roopert
Gromit
j8snl
13 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Beginner Help - Key Fob / Battery / Cobra Empty Beginner Help - Key Fob / Battery / Cobra

Post by j8snl Mon Dec 28, 2020 12:49 pm

Hi folks,

Trying to find the right forum to put this in.  I am a beginner with only a few months motorhome experience and I fear I've made a bit of a schoolboy mistake and looking for some help and advice.

Our AS 2016 Broadway has an EC328 Sargent and a Solar Panel fitted.  Quickly after collecting the van from Marquis (approx 200 mile roundtrip) it was clear the Leisure Battery was more or less done.  I decided against changing it (that may have been the first stupid mistake) thinking, we are only using the van on sites with EHU and winter is approaching so I'll get a new one in Spring for the next season.

However, since the November lockdown, I'd been starting the van and running it once a week just to keep the vehicle battery topped up, until last weekend just before Christmas, when the vehicle battery wouldn't turn over.  Now questioning if the solar panel is actually doing anything? or is it time of year and just not putting much charge into anything? or is is trying to charge a failing leisure battery putting all energy there?

Anyway, to resolve the vehicle battery not starting I hooked up my EHU for a day, powered on the Control Panel and flipped the battery from Leisure to Vehicle.  That worked fine and next day the van started no problems.