The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New Owner. Considering Autosleeper Symphony

+2
roli
exmoorcamper
6 posters

Go down

New Owner. Considering Autosleeper Symphony Empty New Owner. Considering Autosleeper Symphony

Post by exmoorcamper Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:05 am

Hi 
We are looking at buying our first camper van, after owning several caravans in the past.

There's a lot of choices out there, but we've narrowed it down to an Autosleeper, preferably a Transit based Duetto or Peugeot Boxer with a Symphony body. It has to have a shower and an oven. We are looking at mid 90's to early 2000's in terms of age for budget reasons.

I would welcome any experienced-based advice on these options. The Transit choice was based on the reliability of the mechanicals, but I know they do have more of their share of rot issues. I have no experience of Boxers and their respective engines. It would be the 2 litre petrol, which I know won't be fast, powerful or economical, or is the equivalent diesel engine better. Are there specific issues with either of these. I am more concerned about reliability than performance.

Any help much appreciated.

Pete
exmoorcamper
exmoorcamper

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Duetto
Vehicle Year : 1997

Back to top Go down

New Owner. Considering Autosleeper Symphony Empty Re: New Owner. Considering Autosleeper Symphony

Post by roli Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:19 am

The Transit would be my 1st choice. People say they rust, looked after they are no worse than other makes and you can get parts for them unlike Peugeots.

You show your van as a Topaz in in your profile - This would be a very good choice with eith the the 2.5TD or earlier 2.4 5 cylinder engines and like the Ford you can pick up VW-T4 parts

Welcome to the forum, would have been good if you had done an intro before posting
roli
roli

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Warwick Duo
Vehicle Year : 2016