morris leisure site, Shrewsbury

View previous topic View next topic Go down

morris leisure site, Shrewsbury

Post by bonnie on Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:26 pm

Hi all,

Have just come back from north Wales (Beddgelert) .  This time we decided to stop off for one night on the way to break the journey, and to try somewhere new.  We had stayed at the "morris Leisure" site at Betws y Coed, and liked it, so decided to give their Shrewsbury site a try.  
The site was immaculately kept - large pitches with level hardstanding and electricity.  Shower block equally immaculate. Really nice showers.   Shop seemed to be well stocked with essentials and camping equipment (though I must admit I didn't really have a good look round.  There is an adults only section , which was nice and quiet (but it was Monday night, although in the middle of the school  holidays. ) ( I am a teacher, so it's nice to be children-free when on holiday.)
We had a lovely pitch in a corner with a patch of grass, very secluded.  Some pitches were more open, so it's worth asking for a corner one if available.  A lot of the site was set up in  kind of bays with 4 or 6 pitches , rather than a long row ( a bit like the bays of beds in a modern hospital ward).
The site is on the outskirts of Shrewsbury.  The "park and ride" buses are about 2 minutes walk away, with a bis about every 15 minutes into town,  There is also a parade of shops a couple of minutes away - a co-op, pharmacy, vets, chinese take away and fish and chip shop.  When on the site you feel like you are in the country, so the proximity of the shops is not a disadvantage.  There are pubs within a few minutes walk, burt we got a chicken kebab from the takeaway - one portion was more than enough for both of us!   If you want to go walking etc, you will need to take the van out.