Novice

Go down

Novice Empty Novice

Post by TX4 on Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:28 pm

Hi all,
          can any one help ,its a question im sure you've been asked many times before, however I am a novice newbie all help appreciated .

I have made my mind up to purchase a VW Clubman GL from 1993-2003 4 Berth Diesel the vehicle will not cover many miles per year maybe 5-10,000 miles per year .

The dilemma which engine configuration ?

1.... IM not worried about speed, more interested in maximum MPG  
2.....Im not that keen on modern ECU engines I prefer more robust mechanical units, not that I know my way around an engine at all ,im just not   a fan of main brain lights constantly coming up sending vehicles into limp mode totally unnecessary Equally not worried about electric windows im capable of winding down a window.
3.....1.9TD  I Understand will be under powered for this weight vehicle.... That is to get the best from the vehicle 
4.... So im guessing its 2.4 or the 2.5 5 Pot 

5.... ON LINE AT PRESENT IS A 2.4 WITH TURBO INTERCOOLER CONVERSION 
6.....ALBEIT A PROFESSIONAL CONVERSION IS THIS BEST GIVEN A WIDE BERTH 
7 ....AFTER ALL SAID IM FULLY AWARE.DIFFERENT PEOPLE WILL HAVE THEIR OWN OPINIONS BUT IM THINKING WITH ALL YOUR WISDOM AND    EXPERTISE ,I WILL BE ABLE TO TAKE THE BEST FROM ALL OF YOU AND FORMULATE A CONCLUSION THAT FITS ME BEST 

2.4 with Turbo or 2.5tdi 5 pot 
                                                   Many Thanks TX4
TX4
TX4

Male

Auto-Sleeper : clubman gl
Vehicle Year : 1993-200

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Novice Empty Re: Novice

Post by easylifer on Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:37 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum. I would suggest that you may get more relevant replies if you post in 'monocoque' or miscellaneous. Happy hunting.

David
easylifer
easylifer
Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 71
Auto-Sleeper : Absent
Vehicle Year : 0000

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by TX4 on Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:40 pm