Duetto striplight

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Duetto striplight

Post by Dynamic on Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:11 pm

The striplight went in the loo & when I removed the cover I found there were 2 tubes although the fitting would appear to take 3. I have bought 2 new tubes but the light still does not work!  (Didn't realise about there being space for 3 tubes until I was back home).  (1) Should  there be 3 tubes? (2) Is there a starter that needs replacing?  I cannot see anything. (3)  Could it be the light fitting itself that has gone?       I wondered if the previous owner had removed a tube due to a problem?     
 It is only the third time I have used the camper since buying it in June so I am still a novice hence the silly questions.
The other 3 striplights in the camper are working OK still.
Any advice will be greatfully received.

Ps Do all the light strip and 'spotlights' work off 12V?
Dynamic
Donator
Donator

Female

Member Age : 67
Auto-Sleeper : Duetto
Vehicle Year : 2010

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Duetto striplight

Post by Paulmold on Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:51 pm

Normally these fittings do only have two tubes despite holding three so that's unlikely to be the problem.

Donator
Donator

Male

Member Age : 66
Auto-Sleeper : Nuevo ES
Vehicle Year : 2006

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by -mojo- on Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:52 pm

It sounds like you have LabCraft trilight fluorescent fittings. These are designed to be capable of running three tubes, but AFAIK the ones used by A/S only ever have two tubes fitted.

There are several possible reasons for the failure - the easiest to check being: is there 12 Volts or thereabouts supply to it when the habitation power is on? If not, then a tripped fuse may be the cause (or it may be more complicated than that!).