Looking for advice/thoughts on this camper

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Looking for advice/thoughts on this camper

Post by debhumberstone on Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:05 pm

Hi there, I posted recently that I'm on the look out for my first van (VW Trident or similar). I viewed one at the weekend which looked pretty good, but would like people's opinions and thoughts. I've copied the link to the listing below, and below are also answers to some questions I had.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-TRIDENT-AUTOSLEEPER-L-REG-11000-/272561013466?hash=item3f75e702da:g:c64AAOSwfVpYqEey

The van is in really good condition from what I could see. Underneath seemed sound - a bit of rust underneath at the back, around where the spare wheel is, but otherwise it seemed ok. It drives well, and sounds ok, though I'm no expert by a mile (or even several miles!)

The van failed its MOT last week, but they are putting a new MOT on the vehicle so assume the things it's failed on will be rectified. The van hasn't been serviced since they bought it, but that's only a little over a year ago. It was bought from a garage, and had full hab check and service when they bought it, and they have only done maybe 2000 miles since they've had it. I have seen the paperwork for this, and checked the online MOT history. 

The owner has offered to get the van serviced before selling, but is less prepared to negotiate on price if this is done, and £11K is really outside my upper spend limit.  I'm not sure if getting it serviced is necessary/sensible given it hasn't done much mileage since last done, but for security and peace of mind, I would feel better if it was serviced. What do people think about this?

Any thoughts generally would be much appreciated. I know with only £10-10.5K to spend I'm not going to get perfect, but want to be sure I get the best I can, and given I've not owned a van before, I'm still learning.

Really appreciate any help/advice. Thank you, Debbie.