Fitting an inverter

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Fitting an inverter

Post by sapper997 on Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:28 pm

I am thinking of fitting a 2000w power inverter in my 1997 Excecutive,but would like any ideas on where other Executive owners have
   fitted them, the one I am looking to fit is ebay No 290978190156 ( I can't do links and photos  scratch head  ).
   I have 2x 100amp leisure batteries, one under the drivers seat, and the other one in the space directly behind, over which I have
   fitted a wooden cover. The inverter measures 37x15x8cm and has a remote control, so my main thought is a/ where to fit the inverter
   b/ the remote, and c/ the extension socket/plug socket.
   Hope this makes sense, I am no electrician and would have it fitted by someone who knows what they are doing   confused3  , just looking
   for ideas from other owners.

Ray
sapper997
Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper : EXECUTIVE

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Fitting an inverter

Post by Cymro on Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:44 pm

Forgive me for asking what may seem cheeky question (it's not meant to be) but why do you want an inverter?  Thinking about what equipment we have fitted or carry, most of our 240v things also run on the alternative of 12v, or on gas e.g water heater; space heater; lights; fridge; cooker; TV; audio system; medical CPAP machine; tyre inflator; fan etc.

The only things which must have 240v because they won't work on gas or 12v are the microwave, and the 1 electric ring on the cooker (which has 3 gas hobs and grill and oven).

So I wonder why it's necessary to have an inverter, even for wild / non-mains pitching?

Cymro
Cymro
Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Nuevo ES

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by Gromit on Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:10 pm

Have to share Cymro's confusion. scratch head