How thick / Resilient is Gelcoat

View previous topic View next topic Go down

How thick / Resilient is Gelcoat

Post by NORGIL on Mon May 30, 2016 3:29 pm

The surface of my Clubman could do with a lift to bring back the shine.
I have seen various gelcoat restorers and other grp pastes such as Farecla G3 et al.
The vehicle is now 15yrs old and I have no idea how many times previous owners have used a " cutting " type paste/restorer before me.
The question is how safe is it to use such pastes on a vehicle this age.
How thick is the "gelcoat" how resilient is it to repeated cutting/cleaning ?

Any ideas appreciated.

Norman

NORGIL
Donator
Donator

Male

Auto-Sleeper : Clubman GL

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: How thick / Resilient is Gelcoat

Post by circa75 on Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:38 pm

Hi Norman,

Did you polish/wax your Clubman yet?

I'm no expert but have spent the past couple of evenings and this morning grafting away on a '98 Medallion body. The monocoque body had been jet washed (not my idea) pre sale and left at that, it was cleanish but very flat and looked like matte plastic rather than gloss finish.

I used a cutting paste with a fine abrasive to it, not the Farecla brand but something similar (an old tin of trade product found in the garage). It worked a treat but was very stubborn to come off in places and had to be done twice in certain areas. It also removed some fine scratches, marks etc.

Adding sprays of water helped keep it moving going on, as it can be thick. The buffing off when dry was the hard work, but this could be due to the age of the product used - new Farecla might be much easier! Once that was done putting Mer wax over the top to (hopefully) protect the gloss from weathering was child's play. Easy on, easy off.

I wouldn't say many owners do this regularly (hence why every monocoque I've seen so far has flat matte bodywork), so would guesstimate your 2001 vehicle will clean up with no problems.